Different Florida districts and different judges may impose varying sentences for a first time offender. Florida law for a first offense conviction could result in no minimum period of incarceration but has the potential of up to six months, or up to 9 months if your BAC* was above .15%. If you’re concerned about the outcome of your DUI case, contact a Pensacola Lawyer will provide you with aggressive representation. In addition to providing our clients with quality, professional legal representation, our firm also provides them with the personal attention that they deserve.
What will a DUI cost you?
For a first time offender, considering there were no injuries and no property damage could cost you up to $12,000.
You will be looking at:
- Court Costs
- Legal Fees
- License Reinstatement
- Substance Abuse/Counseling/Rehabilitation Classes
- Ignition Interlock System
- Increased Insurance Costs
- Loss of Income
How much do you have to drink (BAC*) for a DUI in Florida?
- Under 21 is .02%
- 21 or older is .08%
- Commercial is .04%
What is Implied Consent?
Florida’s “implied consent” law states that the chemical or physical breath test must be incidental to a lawful arrest and administered at the request of a law enforcement officer who has reasonable cause to believe such person was driving or was in actual physical control of the motor vehicle within this state while under the influence of alcoholic beverages.
The person shall be told that his or her failure to submit to any lawful test of his or her breath will result in the suspension of the person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of 1 year for a first refusal, or for a period of 18 months if the driving privilege of such person has been previously suspended as a result of a refusal to submit to such a test or tests, and shall also be told that if he or she refuses to submit to a lawful test of his or her breath and his or her driving privilege has been previously suspended for a prior refusal to submit to a lawful test of his or her breath, urine, or blood, he or she commits a misdemeanor in addition to any other penalties. The refusal to submit to a chemical or physical breath test upon the request of a law enforcement officer as provided in this section is admissible into evidence in any criminal proceeding.
If you have been arrested on a DUI charge in Florida, get help from an experienced DUI attorney. Conviction for a DUI has serious consequences – especially if the incident involved injury to people or property. Be sure to find a Pensacola lawyer who is knowledgeable about your state’s laws and about how the system works in your county’s court.
*Blood Alcohol Content